Like these blossoms…

… we are all dying. This line, from the movie The Last Samurai, stuck in my mind like the tip of a sword that broke off and couldn’t be removed, forcing me to contemplate an issue that all humans, including myself, try to avoid until the last moment: death.

It suddenly struck me that I was already dying before I was even conceived, because everything and everyone involved in the chain of my creation was already dying as well.

The path is simple; it goes like this:

  1. The sperm and the egg which created me were already dying when they combined to create me, bringing forth new life.
  2. My mother and father were already dying when they created the sperm and the egg that created me.
  3. My father’s and my mother’s parents were already dying when they created the sperms and eggs that created my mother and my father.
  4. You can follow this path all the way back to the primordial goop if you want to, but it always remains the same. All living things were already dying when they were brought to life.

So, what is death? Contemplate on it for a while, as I am. More on this later, as it becomes more clear…

 

Leave a Reply

